Sparrow Farm Junior School

Be the best you can be

AspirationCommunityIndependenceLove of LearningResponsibility



 *New - SATs: Further Resources for Parents

What are SATs:

SATs (Standard Assessment Tests) are compulsory national tests, given at the end of year 2, year 6 and year 9. They are used to show a child's progress and attainment compared with other children of the same age both locally and nationally.

How SATs are graded:

  • The results of the tests in reading; mathematics; and, grammar, punctuation and spelling will be reported to pupils and parents as scaled scores. 
  • To reach the new expected standard, each pupil will be required to attain a scaled score of 100 or more in the tests. 
  • Parents will be provided with their child’s score alongside the average for their school, the local area and nationally.
  • A pupil’s scaled score will be based on their raw score. The raw score is the total number of marks a pupil receives in a test, based on the number of questions they answered correctly. The pupil’s raw score is then translated into a scaled score using a conversion table.
  • A pupil who achieves the national standard of 100 will have demonstrated sufficient knowledge in the areas assessed by the tests. This will mean that they are well placed to succeed in the next phase of their education.
  • They will not release the ‘conversion charts’ until after the SATs have been administered.
  • In July, each pupil registered for the tests will receive:
    • a raw score (number of raw marks awarded),
    • a scaled score,
    • confirmation of whether or not they attained the national standard.

You can find more information here.


CGP website